About the POST Board

The POST Board oversees POST’s objectives, outputs and future work programme.

It meets quarterly to discuss proposals for POSTnotes and decide which briefings should be produced. These meetings ensure that POST’s work programme reflects the current interests of UK Parliament.

To maximise impartiality, the POST Board reflects the make-up of UK Parliament and spans the breadth of scientific disciplines. It comprises:

  • 12 parliamentarians drawn from the House of Commons (8) and the House of Lords (4), roughly reflecting the balance of parties in Parliament.
  • Leading non-parliamentarians from the research community, nominated by the National Academies.
  • Representatives of the House of Lords and the Research & Information and Chamber and Committees teams of the House of Commons.


House of Commons

House of Lords



  • Grant Hill-Cawthorn

    House of Commons Librarian and Managing Director of Research & Information

  • Ariella Huff

    Director of Select Committee Scrutiny and Analysis, House of Commons

  • Xameerah Malik

    Head of Science and Environment Section, House of Commons Library

POST work programme

This work programme has been approved by the POST board. View upcoming topics and find out how to contribute as an expert.